Nomination Categories and Forms

Questions? Please contact [email protected]

Click on the links below the categories to access the appropriate nomination form. Each form contains the unique criteria for the selected category. Please keep these criteria in mind while writing your nomination.

Need a little help? Check out our Tips for a Successful Nomination.


"Touch a Life" Award

Nominated by a patient, patient family member, or another community member. This nominee demonstrates the heart of nursing through their positive impact on an individual, family and/or community 


Distinguished Nurse of the Year Award

A nurse who, over the past 15 years, has been an exemplar through innovative leadership, fostering involvement in the nursing profession, or forming and engaging partnerships within the community.


Excellence in Practice Awards - Categories

  • Advanced Practice: Masters prepared nurse in an advanced practice setting; clinical nurse specialist, certified nurse midwife, nurse practitioner, nurse psychotherapist, CRNA
  • Ambulatory Nursing: Clinic, office and other ambulatory care settings, employee health, occupational health, industrial health, infection control
  • Behavioral Health: Behavioral health and addictive services
  • Case/Quality Management, Managed Care Informatics: Community or hospital case manager, quality management, risk management, infection prevention, patient safety, utilization management, and informatics
  • Critical Care: Adult ICU/CCU, cath lab, special procedures
  • Emergency: Emergency department, flight, ambulance, pre-hospital, telephone triage
  • Home Health/Hospice: Staff nurse in home health care settings, hospice, in-patient hospice
  • Long-Term Care/Rehabilitation: Nursing home, gerontology, services for disabilities, rehabilitative services, subacute/transitional unit
  • Maternal-Child/Women's Health: Obstetrics, gynecology, women's health, nursery, pediatrics, NICU, PICU, Peds ER, early childhood/early intervention services
  • Medical/Surgical: Acute or chronic medical and surgical nursing specialties
  • Perioperative: Perioperative, recovery room, day surgery, operating room
  • Public Health/Community/School: Public health, school, forensic, transplant coordinator, telehealth, parish and corrections/prison nursing


Leadership in Nursing Awards - Categories

  • Emerging Nurse Leader: Inclusive of charge nurses, assistant nurse managers, supervisors; first-line nurse leaders are those professionals who are responsible for overseeing first-level nursing services.
  • Nurse Executive Leadership: Inclusive of Chief Nursing Officers (CNOs) Chief Executive Officers (CEOs), Deans, executive vice presidents of nursing, or equivalent, these professionals are responsible for leadership at the executive table; designing strategic, operational delivery systems and directing patient care services/education throughout an organization.
  • Nursing Leadership: Inclusive of clinical nurse managers, coordinators, directors; these middle management nurse leaders are often responsible for overseeing several units, departments, or service lines within an organization.

Nightingale Award

Exemplifies outstanding and caring leadership and professionalism as a beginning practitioner in the first 18 months as a Registered Nurse.


Community Service Award

Recognition of a nurse who takes a leadership role in community organization and has made significant professional or voluntary contributions that have improved the profession or patient care in New Mexico.


Education/Research/Academia Award

Academic faculty, continuing education, staff development; focus on non-clinical/clinical settings, research.


Rural Practice Award

Recognition of a nurse who practices in small communities and rural health systems (county population of 100,000 or less per US Census Bureau 2012 census estimates [counties other than Bernalillo, Dona Ana, Sandoval, San Juan or Santa Fe]), where access to care and resources provide unique challenges. Practice may be in rural hospitals, public health, or ambulatory care settings.