Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse
Community Search
NEA 2018 Nomination Categories
Share |
2018 Nursing Excellence Awards - Nomination Categories and Forms

The award nomination categories are listed below.  Simply click on the category to go to the appropriate nomination form.

The form contains all the criteria for the category along with the percentage of weight given each.
Please remember to keep these in mind in writing your nomination.

You might also look at the Tips for Completing a Successful Nomination for some guidance.

Thank you for honoring that special nurse with a nomination for a Nursing Excellence Award!

Advanced Practice

Masters prepared nurse in an advanced practice setting; clinical nurse specialist, certified nurse midwife, nurse practitioner, nurse psychotherapist, CRNA

Ambulatory Nursing

Clinic, office and other ambulatory care settings, employee health, occupational health, industrial health, infection control

Behavioral Health

Behavioral health and addictive services

Case/Quality Management, Managed Care/Informatics

Community or hospital case manager, quality management, risk management, infection prevention, patient safety, utilization management and informatics

Community Service Award

Recognition of a nurse who takes a leadership role in community organization and has made significant professional or voluntary contributions that have improved the profession or patient care in New Mexico.

Critical Care

Adult ICU/CCU, cath lab, special procedures

Distinguished Nurse of the Year

A nurse who, over the past 15 years, has been an exemplar through innovative leadership, fostering involvement in the nursing profession, or forming and engaging partnerships within the community.


(Academic faculty, inservice, continuing education, staff development) focus in non-clinical/clinical settings, research.


Emergency department, flight, ambulance, pre-hospital, telephone triage

Home Health/Hospice

Staff nurse in home health care settings, hospice, in-patient hospice

Long-Term Care/Rehabilitation

Nursing home, gerontology, services for disabilities, rehabilitative services, subacute/transitional unit

Emerging Nurse Leader

Inclusive of charge nurses, assistant nurse managers, supervisors; first-line nurse leaders are those professionals who are responsible for overseeing first-level nursing services.

Maternal-Child/ Women’s Health

Obstetrics, gynecology, women's health, nursery, pediatrics, NICU, PICU, Peds ER, early childhood/early intervention services


Acute or chronic medical and surgical nursing specialties

Nightingale Award

Exemplifies outstanding and caring leadership and professionalism as a beginning practitioner in the first 18 months as a Registered Nurse.

Nurse Executive Leadership

Inclusive of Chief Nursing Officers (CNOs) Chief Executive Officers (CEOs), Deans, executive vice presidents of nursing, or equivalent, these professionals are responsible for leadership at the executive table; designing strategic, operational delivery systems and directing patient care services/education throughout an organization

Nursing Leadership

Inclusive of clinical nurse managers, coordinators, directors; these middle management nurse leaders are often responsible for overseeing several units, departments, or service lines within an organization.


Preoperative, recovery room, day surgery, operating room

Public Health/ Community/School

Public health, school, forensic, transplant coordinator, tele-health, parish and corrections/prison nursing

Rural Practice

Nurse who practices in small communities and rural health systems (county population of 100,000 or less per US Census Bureau 2012 census estimates [counties other than Bernalillo, Dona Ana, Sandoval, San Juan or Santa Fe]), where access to care and resources provide unique challenges. Practice may be in rural hospitals, public health, or ambulatory care settings.

“Touch a Life” Award

Nominated by a patient, patient family member or other community member. This nominee demonstrates the heart of nursing through their positive impact on an individual, family and/or community

 Nursing Legend The New Mexico Nursing Legends Awards are presented to fully retired nurses whose career has significantly enhanced the nursing profession in New Mexico.

A maximum of five (5) Nursing Legends Awards are presented each year.