Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse
Community Search
NEA Nomination Criteria/Forms
Share |

2018 New Mexico Nursing Excellence Awards


The Awards

The New Mexico Excellence Awards recognize nurses in 20 professional categories including the prestigious Distinguished Nurse of the Year Award.  The recipient in each category will be a nurse, LPN or RN, whose leadership and contributions have made a significant impact in his/her community and to the profession of nursing.

The "Touch of Life" Award offers patients, their families and other members of the community an opportunity to recognize the special nurses who have touched their lives.  The purpose of this award is to reflect and honor the special relationship between patients and nurses. Patients, friends/family, co-workers, businesses and organizations may nominate nurses.

The Nursing Legend Award recognizes retired nurses who have significantly contributed to nursing in New Mexico.

Nomination Fee

The fee for each nomination is $75.  If paying by check, please make payable to NMCNE. This fee covers the nominee's complimentary dinner during the New Mexico Nursing Excellence Awards Celebration.
A very limited number of waivers are available for individuals needing assistance with fee when making a nomination in the "Touch a Life" category.  If you would like assistance with this fee, please include a written request with your completed nomination form for waiver consideration.

Nominee Criteria

Candidate must have been a resident of New Mexico for a minimum of one year from August 2016 to August 2017 to qualify as a nominee. (Consideration will be given to a nurse who is not a NM resident if that nurse is primarily employed in New Mexico.  Contact us at 505-889-4518 with questions.)  Posthumous nominations are not accepted.  Each nomination category has a unique set of criteria which are detailed on nomination forms.


Wednesday, August 8, 2018.

Nominee Information

To view the nomination categories, click here.  Then, just click on on your chosen category and you will be taken to the appropriate nomination form with that category's unique criteria.  Simply "save as" on your computer and complete.

Please note that criteria has changed on some categories this year.  In addition, each criterion is now weighted differently from past years.  When writing your essay, please address all the criteria and note the weight each is given for judging.

Mail the completed nomination form along with the $75 nomination fee (checks made payable to NMCNE) to: NM Center for Nursing Excellence, 3200 Carlisle NE, Ste. 205, Albuquerque, NM  87110
You may also fax form to 505-889-4551 or scan and email to  To pay, you may send check or call us at 505-889-4518 with credit card information.

Here are some helpful Tips for Completing a Successful Nomination.  

If you have questions about categories or the nomination process, please feel free to contact us at or give us a call at 505-889-4518.


Selection Process

The New Mexico Nursing Excellence Award Selection Committee is comprised of nurses from around the state.  In addition to these committee members, award nominees from the previous year are invited to join the selection committee.  The entire selection process is done by code and the names of the nominees are not known until after the selections are completed.  Honorees are not announced (even within the NEA Planning Committee) until the night of the Nursing Excellence Awards dinner.  This is our process:

- Anyone can nominate a nurse (colleague, supervisor, patient, family member); the criteria are tailored to type of award based on feedback/recommendations of nurses.
- Nominees are validated against the NM Board of Nursing to ensure they are nurses in good standing.
- Nominations are blinded as to nominee, nominator and organization, then given a unique code by which they are identified throughout selection process.
- Selection committee members do not evaluate nominees on their own specialty.  A minimum of three (3) reviewers score each award category.
- Nominations are scored against four (4) weighted criteria.
- The nominee with the highest score in the category is the award winner in that category.  If the top two (2) scores are within .5 points, another independent reviewer scores the two (2)  nominations to determine winner.
- The winners are only then identified by name and organization.