Nursing Excellence Awards Frequently Asked Questions
The Purpose
The purpose of the New Mexico Nursing Excellence Awards is to recognize excellence in nursing practice and honor nurses for the contributions they make to their organizations, communities, and the state. Created by nurses for nurses, the Nursing Excellence Awards have honored over 3,000 New Mexico nurse nominees since its creation in 2005.
The Awards
Nursing Excellence Awards are given in 19 nursing specialties to recognize excellence in practice. In addition, there are special awards which include: The “Touch a Life” Award celebrates the special relationship between nurses and their patients. The prestigious New Mexico Distinguished Nurse of the Year Award is presented to an individual whose practice exemplifies the best of the nursing profession.The Nursing Legend Award pays tribute to retired nurse leaders whose lifetime achievements have significantly contributed to the profession.
The Process
A call for nominations is announced in May of each year, during Nurses Week, with nominations accepted through early September. Anyone can nominate a nurse for an award. There is a nominal $100 nomination fee, which covers the nominee’s attendance at the gala. The nominations are blinded and evaluated based on established criteria by a committee of professional nurses from around the state.
The Dinner
The 2021 Annual New Mexico Nursing Excellence Awards will be presented at a gala dinner on Saturday, April 2nd, 2022 at the Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town. Silent Auction: 5:30 - 7:00 Dinner: 7:00 pm with awards following.
The Beneficiary
Proceeds of the Nursing Excellence Awards support the New Mexico Center for Nursing Excellence (NMCNE). The NMCNE is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization whose mission is to advance the nursing community through the convening of stakeholders and initiatives that support nurse practice, education, professional development and the profession as a whole throughout the state of New Mexico.