Award Categories

Nominations are now closed. 

  • The "Touch a Life" Award celebrates the special bond between patient and nurse. This award was created to give patients, families, and communities an opportunity to recognize a nurse that has touched their lives in a meaningful way. This community award has no nomination fee.
  • Excellence in Nursing Practice Award recognizes excellence in practice and leadership in multiple specialty categories. 
  • Nurse Leadership Awards recognize exemplary leadership skills amongst both emerging and longstanding leaders in nursing.
  • Distinguished Nurse of the Year award goes to a nurse who, over the past 15 years, has been an exemplar through innovative leadership, fostering involvement in the nursing profession, or forming and engaging partnerships within the community.
Learn More about all of the Award Categories here! 




Since 2005, the New Mexico Center for Nursing Excellence has had the honor of hosting the New Mexico Nursing Excellence Awards. 

This annual awards ceremony recognizes excellence in nursing practice and honors nurses for the contributions they make to their organizations, communities, and to our state. 

Created by nurses for nurses, the Nursing Excellence Awards have honored over 3,000 New Mexico nurse nominees since we began. 

Proceeds from the Nursing Excellence Awards support the New Mexico Center for Nursing Excellence and its mission. 

Event Sponsorships/Program Ad Opportunities

Help us support nurses in the Year of the Nurse and a year when healthcare providers need more support than ever.


Click Here for Sponsorship Information